Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Only movies that can teach us something about real life is worth watching.

Today it is almost axiomatic that watching movies and television series is an indispensable part of people’s recreation. The question then is whether these movies need to be necessarily instructive or not. Some people may consider movies as a means that provide people with entertainment whereas some others may take an opposite viewpoint and think that not only should movies be educative, but they also should aim to encourage virtue and mortify vice. So far as I am concerned, I contend that not denying the prominent role that movies and media, in general, can play to heighten the moral attitudes in the society, the essence of movies is amusement. Further discussion on this argument can be boiled down to a couple of upcoming reasons below.

The first salient aspect to be introduced is that there must be something to act as an incentive to attract people to spend their time sitting motionless in front of their television sets in their homes or in cinemas for hours even if the producers are trying to teach them something. In other words, the more attractive a TV program is, the more attainable the teaching purposes will be. According to a recent study carried out by some academic figures in a distinguished university, people are more likely to be affected by programs that are more intriguing to them.

Another equally noteworthy point in corroborating my stance is that today, especially in megacities, people pursue a hectic lifestyle and usually are under severe work as well as ambient pressure. They usually have to burn the candle from the ends in order to make ends meet. As a result, they are indeed in need of something that let them detach themselves from real life and relieve their stress. This can become even more critical given to the fact that stress is a contributing factor in many mental as well as physical disorders. In other words, people need entertainment as a means of catharsis. That is why I think it is imperative that movies serve amusement purposes alongside didactic ones.

Finally, yet importantly, another reason why I disagree with this statement is the indisputable fact that being profitable plays a pivotal role in any given business. It means, aside from the destructive or constructive effects that media as a whole may have on society, the filming industry needs to remain lucrative or there will be no media at all. This fact leads us to the conclusion that movies and television series should be alluring enough to be able to reach a larger amount of audience, and consequently, there must be some amusement included. It is worth mentioning that movies and TV programs that are aimed to be instructive for the public are more likely to attract fewer spectators, and may result in lower rates of interest that is very important for investors.

In brief, based on the aforementioned arguments, one can logically draw the conclusion that limiting filmmakers to produce movies that are only about real life may result in unfavorable implications. However, that was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are some other reasons and examples, challenging the claim, which is not mentioned above. All in all, it is highly recommended that a comprehensive study be carried out to touch on other aspects of this issue.