Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The influence of the opinions of celebrities is always debatable. Some people believe that younger people are more impacted by the views of famous persons in their lifetime more than older people. In my opinion, I think this to be true for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, celebrities are able to capture the attention of young adults more easily than older people. Young people have more time to watch television, go to the movies, attend sports events and music concerts. On the other hand, older people have more responsibilities and they rarely have spare time to entertain themselves. As a result, modern day stars are more recognized by younger people and hence, their opinions and preferences are more influential on the youth. My own experience is a compelling example on what I mean. When I was a kid, I used to watch many scientific documentaries. I once had a chance to see a documentary about the universe called Cosmos, which starred Carl Sagan who was a well-known scientist then. After that, I began to read many books for him and I was fascinated by the ideas I found in his books. Nevertheless, most young people now do not know anything about this famous researcher and thinker because they were born in a different era and they are mostly influenced by the celebrities of their time. Nonetheless, I, as an older person, am less affected by the celebrities of today.

Secondly, the internet have been playing a vital role in reinforcing the impact of famous people's opinions. Since the majority of people who use online platforms are relatively young, they are the ones who are more impacted by entertainers' views. Almost all famous celebrities now have Twitter account and they have millions of followers. This huge fan base, which is mostly made of youth, would be more exposed to celebrities' opinions. Consequently, some companies employ celebrities to market their products. In addition, political candidates during elections seek the endorsement of famous people to gain the votes of young adults.

In conclusion, celebrities plays essential role in the shaping of younger people's opinions more than older individuals. This is because the generation gap between celebrities in a given generation, who are mostly young, and older people in this society. This, in turn, results in older people to have different interests.