Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, it is common to see younger people purchasing products advertised by celebrities or attending music concerts hosted by their favourite singers. Therefore, I agree that celebrities have more influence on younger people.

First of all, younger people are more likely turn to celebrities for entertainment because of the similarities in age and interest. The entertainers, such as a movie star or singer, are usually young and attractive. To the youth, they represent the fashion. It is easy for the young people to follow what the entertainers wear, how they act and follow their social media pages. For example, when I was young, I see Michael Jack as an idol. I used to dress a black jacket and wear a black hat like him. I even bought every album he released.

On contrary, older people are usually compact with jobs, personal lives and households. They don’t have enough time to follow famous entertainers or athletes. As we all know modern society is quite competitive. To hold their position at work, the elders have to improve themselves through endless effort. Beside that, family issues, such as children’s education, mortgage and all kind of bills, etc also occupy large part of their lives.

In summary, I am fully convinced that younger people can be easily impacted by opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes.