Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

--Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

--Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

--Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, there are a ton of debates on the timing of correction if we notice that the teacher or the meeting leader mad a mistake during the speech. Personally, I am of the opinion that it is better to make the correction right away. I feel this way because of two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, it helps the audiences remember the correct information better. An incorrect information provided by a teacher or a leader can mislead the listener and create wrong impression of the subjects which are discussed in the class or the meeting. By interrupting and correcting the mistake right away, the audit will pay more attention to the topics and generate long lasting memories. This is best demonstrated by my personal experience. During my college, I enrolled in a physiology course which is presented by a famous professor in the field. In one class, he gave a speech about iron deficiency anemia and mistakenly presented the symptoms of other type of anemia instead, and a student interrupted and corrected him immediately but politely. Consequently, I can clearly remember all the detailed information on symptoms of different types of anemia until now.

Secondly, it can also assist the listeners to understand the topics better. Usually, there will be a discussion following the correction of a potential mistake, which need more detailed information to support each points of view. For example, last month I attended an professional convention on weight loss program, in which a leading profession in the area talked about ketogenic diet. At the beginning, I had difficulty in understanding the topic, while after a discussion between the professor with another well-known professor as the latter pointed out that the professor has made a mistake, everything made sense for me because of the detailed information they presented to against each other. This evidently demonstrates that correcting a mistake right away is helpful for the audience to understand the subjects.

In conclusion, I am fully convinced that the best time reaction to a mistake made by the teacher or a leader is to correct it right away. This is because it helps the audiences memorized and understand the topics better.