Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree that the opinions of celebrities are more important to younger people than to older people. In modern society, the opinions of celebrities can be easily heard from TV programs and the internet. However, those opinions don’t affect people equally. In fact, young men are the main audience of the celebrities for several reasons which I will explain as following.

First of all, the topics which celebrities talk about usually are interesting for younger generation, but are less attractive to elder people. For example, according to a survey conducted by the Youtube, the famous youtubers with the most subscribers are people who talk about fashion or pop music, and people who make fun videos with strong, unique personal style. From my personal experience, while I enjoy watching those videos, my parents and grandparent have no interest in watching them at all. Instead, they pay attention to political or economy issues that few celebrities discuss. In other words, young people have more common interests with celebrities so they are impacted more by the words of the celebrities.

In addition, young people tend to accept the opinions of the celebrities because they deem famous people successful and want to become as successful as them. However, old people are more experienced and have their own judgement much more than young people do. They probably don’t recognize a person as successful simply because he/she is famous. Old people put more emphasis on the motivation and reasoning behind the words, and analyze those words from a more comprehensive perspective. As a result, the words of the celebrities do not influence old people as easily as they do to the young men.

Last but not least, young people have much exposure to the opinions of the celebrities than old men do, so they are impacted by the opinions more. To be more specific, when a celebrity posts his opinion online, it would be reported by other social networks again and again. Since young people tend to follow many social networks at the same time, they would read the similar reporting for many times. That is, the message would be reinforced in their brain and it is possible that eventually the message affects their thoughts unconsciously. However, most of the old people are not heavy users of the internet, so they are not exposed to those similar messages that much and are much less affected by them.

All in all, I believe that the opinions of celebrities have more impacts on young people than on older people, because the topics they discuss induce the interest of young people. Furthermore, young people think famous people are successful people so they believe in what the celebrities said. Also, because of repeated exposure to the message from the celebrities, young man could be impacted unconsciously.