Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Our current way of life will have a negative impact on future generations.

There is no definite answer regarding if our current way of life will cause a negative effect on the future generation. Some people may think that the way of life is innocuous for the future generation, while others believe that it hurts the future generation. In my opinion, I agree with the latter for several reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the following paragraphs.

First of all, countless 3C products cause a negative influence on the environment in the future. To be more concise, smartphones contain a few metals and toxic chemicals, and the rate of changing a phone is so rapid that people usually buy a new phone every two years. After getting the new phone, the old one will be sent to landfills; as a result, the metals and toxic chemicals will decompose in the soil and contaminate it. You see, drawing from a study, a well-known study shows all people discard cellphones about a hundred million every year in the United States, not only causing stress on landfills but also leading to a negative impact on the soil. For this reason, our current way of life has a detrimental influence on the future generation.

Furthermore, overcutting trees has a detrimental effect on our health in the future. Nowadays, students have to read tons of books made from trees. In other words, the more books people make, the more trees they cut down. As the number of trees decreases, there are not enough trees to absorb carbon dioxide and cut it down. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my personal experience. I remember that when I was in the last semester of high school, a great number of books were discarded like huge hills, indicating a huge number of trees had been cut down. Consequently, people will be exposed to the air filled with carbon dioxide, catching dry throat and pneumonia. It’s certainly clear to see why our current way of life has a negative effect on the future generation.

Admittedly, some people may oppose me regarding this statement. For instance, people could reduce the rate of changing a new phone and get second-hand books students who are graduated. However, it is impossible to force people to stop changing their phones; not all students accept to receive old books. Hence, I am of the opinion that our current way of life harms the future generation because of the need for smartphones and books.