Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today's world." Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

Modern development in technology such as access to the internet affects society in many different ways. In my opinion, access to the internet is enormously beneficial to both individuals and the whole community. I feel this way for three reasons, which will explore in the following essay.

First of all, students in universities and colleges can access to a wide range of information through this. When learning new things, it is important to explore the world and find compatible and relevant materials to get superior knowledge. Through the internet, we can find many published journals, conference papers as well as online lectures to learn any complex theories very easily. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I am a university undergraduate student, I want to learn the most recent machine learning theories to do my final year project and our university is not offering any courses related to this area. Therefore, I gain the best knowledge about that by following the video lecture series by a professor from a university in the US. This example demonstrates how the internet helps to strengthen students’ knowledge.

Secondly, people are more active and engage with social works because they can freely exchange ideas online. In countries all over the globe, people are connected through social networking services to share recent news, so people share their thoughts with everyone and they intended to help others as quickly as possible. For instance, recently, the Amazon forest destroyed because of several fires. In that scenario, people all over the world express their thoughts and they share their ideas to save those valuable forests. Some photos shared through the internet provide the feeling that how wildlife suffer from this and these cause human beings to think about deforestation.

Thirdly, people can maintain their relationships with faraway people and this will connect people together. Since all people are connected with social network platforms such as Facebook, Whatsapp and Viber, this will help to share their day to day activities with them. Moreover, form facilities like video calling can help people to feel like their loved ones are with them.

In conclusion. I strongly agree with the argument that wide use of the internet is important to the world population. This is because students get the chance to learn new things, people can know information quickly and they can connect with their friends more easily.