Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? “Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today’s world.” Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

We live in a word that is covered by the internet and social media so, thinking about its ups and downs is consequential for us. Personally, I believe that the internet has been convenient and beneficial for us. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I sill explore in the following essay.

First of all, with the widespread connection it provides, everybody is connected. I think this is important because we can be aware of the news articles and discoveries in science as soon as they come out. The knowledge is now shared, and everybody can use it. This will make us improve in science at a much faster rate. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. Last year my mother's eye had a problem; even though doctors ran lots of tests on her, they couldn't figure out what it was. We didn't give up and went to three other hospitals, but their answer was the same. The last hospital told us to wait and see what happens. Her condition only got worse. After a few months, we went for a checkup. Fortunately, one patient in Canada had the same problem, and their doctors found out what it was. Because of the circumstances, we could not get the exact prescription for My mother, but doctors gave us something with the same ingredient. She used it, and it worked out for her as well.

Furthermore, with the internet, we can see and communicate with each other no matter how much distance we have. With the appearance of skype and telegram, and cellphone, the communication meaning changed. Nowadays, with the help of programs such as telegram and WhatsApp, we can chat with one another at any time. Moreover, with newer programs like skype and Zoom, we can ever see each other. For instance, Last year, my sister and her family moved to Europe. I used to go to their house and see them but know I could not see them face to face for several years, and it could be unbearable for me without the internet. Now we see each other through Skype every other night, and it's pretty much the same as it used to be before she moved. I don't miss her, and she can live wherever she wants without being worry about me.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that the appearance of the internet is hugely beneficial for us and it has changed our world for good. This is because everybody can have access to data, and we are all connected and can communicate with no regard to the distance.