Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children's education than parents were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critically important that parents provide a proper situation for their children success. Personally, I believe parent used to contribute to their children education far less than today. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, education was not as important as todays many years ago. Before the explosion of technology, jobs was based on the skills, so most people were trying to teach their children how to make money by working instead of persisting on their education. In fact a lot of parents were willing their children continue their own career, so children as same as their parents, who most of them did not attend to any academic courses, did not need to look at education seriously. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. My grandfather did not know where my father's school is, and the most important thing to my grandpa was the work that my father must have done after his school, but my father during my education have been talking about my lessons and even my teachers to me almost every day.

Furthermore, today’s academic climate is competitive far more than the past, so parents play a crucial role in this circumstances. If someone want to study a popular major in the university, he will have to try hard by studying plenty of books and references to compete their rivals. For instance, there is a big entrance exam for universities In the Iran named konkour. The students allocate at least the last year of their high school to prepare for this exam. If parents do not support their children during this period, they will give up and will never go to the university. Nowadays, having academic education is something necessary, not only for landing a decent job, but also for having respect among people. Parents want their children have all the good thing and experience an amazing life, so the only way in this field is help the student to attend more strictly to their lessons.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that parents are more involved in their children's education rather than before. This is because jobs was skill-based in the past and there was a minor require for education, and the educational climate was not as much competitive as todays in those days.