Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

One of the most critical aspects of everyone's life is having a secure and prosperous job that can guarantee one's future. Identifying which job has those characteristics has been a real challenge throughout history. As far as I am concerned, I totally believe that nowadays, it is easier to identify an excellent job for a better future than it was in the past. The reasons why I believe so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First, In the past, there were not enough sources for attaining reliable information, and people's knowledge about careers was limited. I mean, when people wanted to get information about a career, they asked their friends and families. Many of them had no accurate information to present. In contrast, nowadays, people can use online sources and many other mediums to attain genuine information about almost every job. My own example illustrates this reality. Thirty years ago, my father wanted to become a pilot. He loved flying and admired the job. However, he had no one to ask about it because all of his friends and his family knew anyone in the business. He only talked to one of his relatives. The guy was not a pilot but said that, "I heard it is tough, and you cannot succeed." Since my father had no one else to talk with, he accepted that man's opinion and did not pursue the job. If that situation happened now, thanks to the internet and other sources, he could find many people to give accurate recommendations.

Second, nowadays, people are better able to predict the future of any career. In the past, if someone was rich and he was a teacher, everyone thought that teachers would make quite a lot of money, so they would pursue it. On the other hand, if someone was a poor engineer, everyone assumed that there would not be a good future in the engineering career. They never thought that maybe that teacher had a wealthy family, or that particular engineer was incompetent in his job. However, nowadays, because of the available sources of technology, people have vast knowledge about the future of careers. For instance, young people now, by use of the internet or Tv news, see that there are quite a lot of unemployed engineers in our country. As a result, they will not choose this career and seek other jobs.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that today, people can choose a better job compared to the past. It is because they have better and reliable sources. Also, they are better able to predict the future of any job.