Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more

effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, teachers use many ways to educate their students, and one of the best ways for students to learn is through projects that their teachers assign them. While some believe that if students work on their projects individually, they learn better, others think otherwise. As far as I am concerned, I totally believe that in order to learn much effectively, students should work together on their projects. The reasons why I think so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, when they work together, they can learn from each other. I mean, everyone is good in one area and bad in some others. In a group, there are different students, and they have various ideas. They can share ideas with one another, and learn from each other. In this regard, there is a popular Persian proverb, the equivalent of which in English may sound like this, " every head has a thought in it." My own experience demonstrates this reality. About fifteen years ago, when I was in high school, the geometry teacher assigned us a group project. The project was relatively difficult and needed a vast knowledge of geometry. I was good in some areas and had some issues in others. My friends were like me, But when we did that project together, we learned many things from each other. It was like studying together. In the final exam, almost all of us got a high score, thanks to that group project.

Second, some maybe have wrong information in some fields, and if they work alone, they will not notice it. When people do their projects individually, there is a chance that they make some mistakes. These mistakes will lead to a bad score for the projects, and they do not know what was wrong. On the other hand, if students work as a group, if some of them make mistakes, the others will notice right away. They will correct the problem, and the one who made the mistake will learn about it. For instance, ten years ago, when I was in university studying Civil Engineering, I had to do a project on steel frame structures. I made a few mistakes in the calculation of the frames. Since there was no one to notice them, I did not know about them and gave the project to the teacher. Because of those simple mistakes, my results were utterly wrong, and I got a terrible score for that project. If I had done that project with someone else, he or she would know about the mistake, and we could correct them before giving it to the professor.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that if students work as a group on their projects, they will learn much better, rather than work alone. They will learn from their group members. Also, if someone makes mistakes, the others will soon notice and correct them.