Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's modern world, thanks to the internet and other sources of information, celebrities express their opinion in different situations. Their opinion has various importance for different people. As far as I am concerned, I totally believe that the famous peoples' opinions are more important for young people compared to elderlies. The reasons why I think so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First, young people see celebrities as role models and listen to their opinions because they want to be like celebrities. I mean, many young people want to be like famous basketball or football players. Therefore, when they state their opinion about an issue, young people accept it and even do as they say. Furthermore, Young people usually love celebrities, such as movie stars and listen to them anyway. On the other hand, older people are generally more mature and do not care about celebrities' opinions. They are often older than football or basketball players and see them as some athletes, nothing more. When they hear celebrities' views, they just think of it as other peoples' opinions.

Second, because of the fame and popularity of celebrities, they can easily influence young people. Almost every young person likes famous athletes, and if they allege their opinion, youngs feel obligated to pay attention. They have this feeling because they do not want to be seen as a weird person who disagrees with popular personalities. If they do not care about celebrities' opinions, they feel left-out from their peers. My own example illustrates this reality. About twenty years ago, when I was a child, there was a famous football player named Ronaldo. He played for Brazil national team and was the best in the world at that time. He had a famous hair cut, which he shaved all his head except for a little part above the head. At first look, it was ridiculous, but since he was very popular, everyone imitated it. My father did not like it and told me that he would not let me make my head like him. However, when I went out to play with my friends, they did not play with me and thought that I do not like Ronaldo. So I had to emulate his haircut so that my friends accept me as a part of them.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that celebrities' ideas and opinions are crucial for young people rather than for olds. It is because they love those personalities and want to be like them. Also, they get influenced by their popularity.