Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Young people are the cornerstones of every society and define the future of that society. Societies often have some rules for these young people in order to raise and control them. While some believe that societies now put stricter rules for young people, others believe otherwise. As far as I am concerned, the regulations that societies had for young people in the past were more strict than those in today. The reasons why I think so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, nowadays, societies are more open-minded toward youths' marriage. In the past, young people were expected to get married as soon as possible. Being single was not tolerated by society. Society considered single boys or girls sinful people who want to corrupt the whole community. Also, parents usually chose their kids' spouses, and love was not a part of the marriage. In contrast, nowadays, there are no such expectations, and people get married in their 30s with whoever they want to. My own experience illustrates this reality. Many years ago, when my father was a teenager, he did not want to get married because he thought he wants to see the world first. However, my grandfather did not allow it and stated that 'it is a sin if you stay single.' He made my father marry one of his friends' daughters. On the other hand, my parents now do not put any pressure on me to get married, and they think that I will get married whenever I feel that I am ready. My father told me to marry whom I love.

Second, in the past, society was very suspicious about youth pursuing the arts. They considered it a bad reputation for the family and did not approve of it. If someone wanted to play an instrument, he or she had to hide it from everybody because they would be seen as a careless person who does not take life seriously and only wants to have fun. Nevertheless, parents encourage their kids to learn to play an instrument, and society now thinks it as a classy action. For instance, forty years ago, in my hometown, people would shun musicians and did not interact with them at all. Nonetheless, musicians have a high status in society, and everyone loves them nowadays.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that the societies' rules for young people were more strict in the past in comparison to today. Society now has a better understanding of pursuing art by youths. Also, they let young people decide about their own marriage.