Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Decision-making is considered to be a huge challenge for many teenagers. Some of them rely on their parents when they make their choices. However, I think young people today are more independent in making a decision than they were in the past.

To begin with, the advent of technology has a direct influence on many young lives. Today, they can travel using many technological vehicles such as cars and planes. As a result, when these young teens travel alone or with friends, they become independent. For example, when I was in intermediate school, my friend Ali had a fancy car because his family was rich. Therefore, whenever we had a school break, we used to travel together for more than seven days. During our journey, we used to depend on ourselves in cooking the food and cleaning the house. Thus, I learned all these skills of independence from multiple friendship trips. On the other hand, young people before did not have any source of technology. Hence, they lived most of the time with their parents; and they depended on them to accomplish their tasks.

Adding to the previous point, young people today have huge opportunities to get a scholarship and study abroad. They will have to go to another country and live alone for at least five years. A good example of this situation is my cousin Wael. Before he started his educational path, he lived with his parent. At these years, he was a spoiled boy because his parent tended to give him everything he wanted such as Play Station and many video games. On the other side, when Wael got the scholarship and went to France, he started to depend on himself. At the first year, he faced some difficulties like homesickness, but after that, life over there forced him to be an independent person.

All in all, I strongly believe that teenagers today depend mostly on themselves than they were in the old days. This is not only because of the arrival of technology, but also the increase in the number of scholarships around the world.