Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reason and examples to support your opinion about it.

It is always so important for young adults to make right decisions about their life. These decisions directly affect their future pathways toward success or failure. Some people think that nowadays young people can decide about their own life by themselves which was not common during previous decades. However, some others still insist that parents have the main role in their children’s' decisions and they depend on their words no matter which period we are living in. In my view, young people changed and they are well capable of making their own choices by themselves for two main reasons.

First, they have access to various technologies which can provide them with beneficial information about any problem. In the past, children mostly considered their parents as their role model and source of information, since there was not any other significant source that can be used for making their decisions. For example, my friend, Jack, born and lived in a city outside the country where at that period even cellphones have not been operated by people there. So, there were a limited number of resources that can assist him in his desisions. He accepted what his parents told him to do in most of the situation, since he believed that they had enough experience to know what choice is good for him. However, today, by technological advancements Jack's kids mainly used the internet and libaries to find their answers about almost anything in their life.

Second, it is culturally acknowledged today that any person is responsible for his own life. Young people respect and follow their parents’ orders during old days, because they were taught and learned that young adults must be the followers of their parents and try to do whatever they say. In contrast, this cultural rule totally conformed during time and in recent years society admits the freedom of choice for any person. For instance, I used to have problem with my dad during my childhood, because he always forced his opinion about my vital decisions. However, this attitude diminished partially over time, as he noticed that social communities give so much value to youngsters who decide and choose their own decisions. So, culture and society play a crucial role in this change undoubtedly.

In conclusion, parents mostly assist their children with their decisions in the past which is altered in modern life due to many reasons. There is a cultural acceptance for independent youngsters who decide to stand on their own feet and life enhancements came to help them find their answers so easily without any needing any other persons around.