Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that our choices during the life could change our future. It is vital for people to increase their knowledge before selecting an option, and make a logical decision. Not all people concur when this issue arises. Being cognizant to the logic behind those who repudiate or endorse the legitimacy of this contention, not having any biased perception, I presume that nowadays young people could pave their way toward the success independently in comparison to the past which parents had a significant role for guidance them. Among a plentitude of reasons in support of this assertion, the invention of cutting-edge devices and high education could be picked out for further analysis.

To commence with, a consensus has yet to be reached; however, regarding state of art facilities based upon the statistics of different general questionnaires in sundry countries, parents are unanimous about the conviction that new technologies such as the internet could provide the good and sufficient resources to acquire information for making a rational decision in daily events. Furthermore, people have accessibility on the internet to different websites which discussing different issues. For example, if someone wants to buy a car and need some information, he/she could visit some related pages about that car; moreover, he/she could read different ideas which proposed by people and experts about merits and demerits of this vehicle. This information is adequate for everyone to choose a proper case among the varieties of options.

In addition to the reason raised above; higher education of current people could also substantiate the justifiability of the claim made at the outset of this essay. In conjunction with public belief, in this decade young people are more educated than past people and they have a lot of knowledge about a wide range of issues. Indeed, their knowledge could give them an ability to analysis any positive and negative effects of a specific decision. A vivid example can be given to shed light on what was elaborated above. The results of a study carried out by Rice University’s graduate students unveiled that the number of the young educated men who are independent our parent for choosing a proper girl to marriage are increased in comparison with 20 years ago. These results show the effect of high education in the independence of parents in the decision-making process.

Drawing upon to the above reasons, discreetly put, as far as my personal perspective on the topic is concerned, I reiterate that in the today’s world young people are more independent of their parent in making a decision for their life. Not only it is based on accessibility to new technologies in comparison with the past but also the new young people are more educated than the past.