Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decision for them, today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

To my way of thinking, nowadays parents have a more important role to make decisions for their young children because not only are parents more knowledgeable, but also they pay more attention to their youths.

The first reason which should be stated here is that today parents are more aware than past. In the past, most of the people were not educated, so they did not have enough information to guide their children. Apart from that, because of stronger media applications people are more aware of the advantages and disadvantages of any decision. For example, my grandmother was not educated, so when my mother wanted to go to the university, she could not perceive any help from her mother because she was not experienced. Therefore, my mother just went to the university according to what she thought she liked, so she studied economic. After she went to the university, she found that this major has a lot of differences with what she thought, so she got disappointed, yet when I wanted to choose my field of study, I decided to study geometrics at the university, and my parents had made me conscious about the lessons which I should learn, so I realized this major was not my favorite, so I studied Finance, and then I was satisfied. It is clear, people are more aware than past, so actually in the past people were unable to help their children in important situations.

Another reason worth discussing here is that nowadays parents are more careful about their children. Some people believe that in the past parents had more time to spend with their children, so they could pay more attention to them; however, I think just having more time cause not to pay more attention. For example, today in any family parents just breed one or two children, even though in the past people at least had four or five children. Then, it is true that they had more time, yet this time should be allocated to more children. As we know, today when one child is born, parents plan for her or his future from childhood, so they register her or him for the variety of classes. This process continues till young ages. As a result, the parents can control and guide their children more than past, and they have much effect on their decision making.

To summarize, as I mentioned, there are lots of reasons, like being more knowledgeable and paying more attention to children, why I believe that today juveniles are more dependent to their parents in their decisions.