Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?:

“People communicate with each other less than in the pass because of the popularity of television”.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Make sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

No one can deny that nowadays, people around the world has more and better possibilities to communicate with their loved ones and friends. In my opinion, I do not agree with the statement above, because public in general has more access to communication, and this progress has occurred thanks to the widespread of the Internet, and not precisely because of the popularity of television. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, the broad use of the internet allows us to communicate quickly with our relatives, which reduces our loneliness and homesickness. Thanks to advances in modern technology we not only can communicate with our families, but we can also see them through video calls. This is a remarkable opportunity that we did not have in the past. My personal experience is compelling example of this. I remember twenty—five years ago when I met my husband at the Pharmacy school and decided to move to Japan, his home country, after our wedding. I was feeling lonely and depressed because I moved very far away from my parents and at that time and didn’t know the local language. Moreover, I did not have friends either, and missed my loved ones constantly. It was a very difficult and sorrowful time in my live, but thanks to the Internet I was able to call my relatives every day, also chat with them through video calls. Eventually my loneliness went away, and I started feeling happy again. In addition, I was so happy that we decided to start a family. If the Internet had never created such sophisticated advances, I would have never been able to communicate frequently with my relatives.

Secondly, we can use the internet to contact an online doctor or a hospital, which allow us to receive immediate care in case of an emergency. The Internet not only provide us with technology, but also with great comfort since we are able to consult a doctor from our homes or offices. My sister example demonstrated that internet has no boundaries. Two weeks ago she called me because my niece had high fever and she didn’t know what to do. She was desperate because her car was broken and didn’t have nobody else to call. Then I encouraged her to use Teladoc, which is a telemedicine company that uses telephone and videoconferencing technology to provide medical care via internet. After a few minutes talking with a professional via Skype she was able not only to ask him questions, but also receive recommendations about her daughter’s treatment. She also received a prescription for her daughter, which was delivered to her house in less than twenty minutes, as well as emotional support to overcome her anxiety. She was so happy that she started calling friends to encourage them to use Teladoc and wrote a candid comment on its website. If my sister had never consulted an online doctor, my niece would have never gotten cured so fast and so well.

To conclude, I am of the opinion that the widespread use of the internet makes our lives happier and easier. This is because the extensive use of the internet allows us to communicate quickly with our families, which reduces our loneliness and sadness and because we can use the internet to contact an online doctor or a hospital, which allow us to receive immediate care in case of an emergency.