Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People communicate with each other less than in the past because of the popularity of television. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

According to the research done by Rebecca Hurray, a psychologist, she has found out that technology has cause more isolation than we expect among people. People tend to think that technology had actually brought more interaction but that is not the case because it has only made communication easier for people who live far away to get connected. My take on this is that television has led to less communication among the people than in the past he is because interaction among family member has declined, similarly, has promoted to the negligence of leisure activities that bonded people together.

To begin with, television has led to declining of interaction among the family members. As much as it is not spoken of, television has become a god to many people in our society since it has been highly regarded. In fact, communication between parents and children is not the same as it were in the past. In past parents could take time to teach the children various responsibilities. However, this does not happen anymore because parents are obsessed with television. Take, for instance, Mr. Marko, our neighbor, every morning, he wakes up, instead of having more time with wife, the screen with many rumors takes control of him. That is his priority, even his wife understand that and so after he settles, she sets up his breakfast there, just in front of him. It can be deduced that this is something growing gradually that television has contributed to.

Secondly, television has resulted in less communication because of promotion to the negligence of leisure activities. In the past years, people could go together in the evening to do various activities and that bonded them together. In fact, it seems that the activities that done in the past such as wrestling, dance, and storytelling have now been replaced by other activities in the television thus diverting the attention of people from what really exists.