Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People communicate with each other less than in the past because of the popularity of television Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

The issue here is whether people communicate with each other less or more than the past because of the popularity of television. In my opinion, I believe that population of television encourages people to communicate better than the past. My view can be greatly substantiated by the reasons addressed below.

To begin with, popularity of television unites people of distant places into an one community. Before the invention of television, people living in rural areas were often abandoned by urban places, and local community was more powerful in rural areas. Local communities were more influential to individuals, and made a small circle of community. However, nowadays, television programs are broadcasted ubiquotously, and gives the same message and issues to different places. Television enabled people to expand their circle of communication. So, people of same nation could share similar indirect experience from television, and the power of nation became powerful.

Second of all, television programs facilitated communication by serving as a place for debate. Some might say television is an one-sided media since broadcast system propagate their program and viewers watch it. However, viewers actually partipate on television programs and interact with each other by this media. For instance, the public are the audiences of debate programs, public participate on news interviews and actively voice out their thoughts. These interactive television program enables public a space where they can act out and communicate. In other words, television programs act as an agora.

Last but not least, people reproduce culture out of television programs. Recently, televisions convey people the newest, cutting-edge global trends to their viewers. People not only absorb the propaganda from the television program but communicate make their own culture from it. For example, when I was in high school, audition program called Korean's got talent was a big hit in my highschool. We not only watched it with biggest fanship, but also imitated the songs from the program, and changed the lyrics and choreographies and made our own musical out of it. This example shows that people not only view but also actively communicate and invent new cultures from the television.

In conclusion, I personally think that popularity of television does not hinder people from communicating. On the contrary, television facilitates communication of the viewers by connecting people regardless of where they live, serving as a space for debate, and by giving people rich resources for new cultural production.