Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People in the future will read fewer books.

Reading is vital for people to gain knowledge. With life-changing rapidly nowadays, some individuals believe that people in the future will read fewer books than people do now, while others argue that people will read more books in the future. As for me, I believe that people in the future will read fewer books than they do now.

First of all, since the internet keeps developing fast, it is likely to let people gain more knowledge via the internet information instead of books in the future. Take my friend, peter, for example; when the government built 4G internet, peter took online courses to learn extensive knowledge. it was so convenient that he watched a 20-minute video to learn all the concepts written in the history textbook. Additionally, he even promoted his novel learning habit to make more and more students learn efficiently. Thus, internet development will keep changing students’ learning habits because it can allow students to acquire lots of information efficiently.

Secondly, the number of bookstores become fewer and fewer, thereby making people in the future have less opportunity to read books. For example, when many bookstores in Taiwan close, it is very hard for people or students to find a book to read. With this tendency, more and more people used other learning tools such as TV programs or tutoring to educate themselves. even some people do not know where the bookstore is. Based on this situation, fewer people will utilize books to study and learn, thereby making people in the future more possible to read fewer books.

Last but not least, people place more and more emphasis on interacting with each other rather than obtaining knowledge, so they will read fewer books in the future. For instance, people nowadays like to hold the face to face meetings to learn from each other. they always exchange their perspectives or opinions in the international conference instead of reading books, making reading less valuable. Due to the obsolete knowledge and concepts in the books, not only the government but also the professors and scholars tend to interact directly to communicate and exchange their thoughts. Hence, it is obvious that people in the future will place less emphasis on reading the same amount of books as they do today.

In conclusion, I hold a profound conviction that people will read fewer books in the future. After all, the fewer bookstores, the more convenient internet, and people’s less care about reading will allow people in the future to read fewer books than they do now.