A new teaching method professor record a video in advance for students to learn class time used to answer questions and have discussions Is it an effective method

Students’ learning becomes more and more of impotence. Some school let students watch the lecturing video previously and then discuss at school, while others believe that the old lecturing way is more effective for students learning. As for me, I think it is more effective to allow students to learn at first via video and then discuss in classes.

First of all, the teaching video can allow teachers to spend more time on lecturing difficult and confusing parts of the subject, making students solve their problems and comprehend well. For example, when I watched the lecturing video made by my high school math teacher, Zach, I always wrote down the difficult concepts and asked him in class. With this all-in-the-previous method, Zach had enough time to completely solve the tough question raised by all my classmates and me. Finally, we learned very thoroughly not only the basic concepts but also the tough questions. Hence, Zach utilized this approach to let students learn academic studies more effectively.

Secondly, if students learn from the teaching videos previously, they can develop their independent thinking and problem-solving skills, which can help their future studies. For instance, when my sister, Julia, took the online preview video, she always tried to solve the puzzle part of the English lecture by herself. She started to look up the dictionary to find out vocabularies and meanings of them. After two semesters, she searched for plenty of related knowledge in the lecture and started to debate with her teacher about English grammar usage. Therefore, with this teaching practice, my sister really developed critical thinking and problem-solving skills very well.

Last but not least, students can easily memorize the concept if they preview the lecturing video and then discuss the issues in class. Take myself for example; when I watched the video first and then discuss the math questions in the class, I memorized all the math equations and solutions quickly due to learning twice. Furthermore, with the math teacher lecturing the mathematic concepts, I could review these subjects again and again. Eventually, I memorized 20 equations only in one week and performed well on each of the math exams. Thus, this approach really helped me to learn and study efficiently.

In conclusion, I hold the profound conviction that students can learn effectively by watching the recorded video and discussing the related issues at school later. After all, not only can they several skills helped with their future studies but they can also memorize the concept easily and focus on their confusing part to learn better.