Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People should have hobbies and do physical activities that are very different from their own work

In the current social situation, it is difficult for people to decide how they should spend their free time. Some people may hold the view that doing some activity akin to their work is very important. On the other hand, others believe that spending their free time on activities very different from their work is much preferable. I strongly think that hobbies and activities different from our works play a pivotal role in our lives. I feel this way, which I will explore in the following essay.

The first reason for substantiating my standpoint is in line with that people can learn a lot about a variety of skills which they had not found the opportunity to learn them in the past. In my opinion, it is very boring to spend our leisure time like our working hours. It is obvious that we would not gain significant experiences in the long run if we do not try something different. We can develop our skills throughout hobbies and it leads us greatly to be successful. For instance, when I was an architecture student, I used to go to the gym after my classes and do karate. Not only it was not a waste of time and money, but also has a special impact on my behavior. After doing regular sport, I could easily control my stress and pressure that I have had in the classes. I could not reach such a success in my field without doing karate. This example demonstrates how valuable having activities different from our works can be.

Another noteworthy reason is that it gives a chance for people to enhance their mind and broaden their horizon. The more we pay attention to our hobbies, the more we develop in life. If we do certain activities like our work, we would not get acquainted with a lot of different people and cultures due to the fact that we probably spend our time with co-workers or people like us. However, if we experience different hobbies, we can get familiar with a lot of people with different passion and attitude. My sister's experience demonstrates that this is true. When she started her job in an office, she was a very introverted person. One of her friends invited her to a painting class and she had gone there three times a week after work. As a result, she had found a lot of close friends and interacting with them helps her to a more sociable person. I am sure that without this experience, she would develop neither in her work nor in life.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons and examples lead us to the conclusion that it is very important for us to do hobbies which are not similar to our works. This is because it develops our skills and helps us to broaden our horizon. However, it was a story in a nutshell. Actually, there is a myriad of other reasons and examples which are not mentioned here due to the dearth of time.