Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do—rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people agree to do things they like to do, rather than doing things they should do. They cite that personal enjoyment is very important, and it is a good way to relieve stress. However, I strongly disagree with this and believe that doing things that are necessary are vital to stay focused in our life. I will give two reasons to explain my stance.

First of all, doing necessary things helps us manage our time. For example, during college time, I always used to complete my assignment in due time and get it credited. There were many friends of mine who used to procrastinate due assignments. As a result, I had enough time to prepare for my end exams, whereas those friends of mine suffered during examinations. If they would have submitted their assignment on time, instead of spending on playing vide game, they would also have enough time to prepare notes. This is important to do things which are necessary to keep us on scheduled time and this habit also helps us in our career. Thus, for me, doing things is more important than personal enjoyment.

Second, the habit of choosing our task than personal enjoyment also helps us in our professional life. For example, a co-worker of mine during field sampling draws hand made sketch to help later while writing report. This saves a lot of his time as he does not have to remember the outline of the sampling field and he used this time to file his findings. While other people stay late in the laboratory upon coming deadlines to complete their work, my co-worker invests his time toward his cooking passion. If the other has not wasted their time earlier, they would not be stressing near the deadlines. It is also vital for the mental health, as it gives us enough time to balance our personal and professional life. Thus, rather than spending extensive time on personal enjoyment, doing things which should be done is a more wise decision.

To conclude, the idea of choosing between personal enjoyment and necessary thing is very complex. Some people have suggested that one should invest more toward personal enjoyment, as the goal is to stay happy. However, I believe that doing things which we should do is more important as it has a wholly positive impact on our personal and work life.