Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people believe that traveling abroad is more beneficial than traveling in their own country and they cite that traveling to foreign countries brings a sense of acceptance to other race, cuisine, and geography. However, I strongly disagree with this and believe that traveling in their own country is far much better. I will explain reasons to support my viewpoint in following paragraphs.

First of all, there is a lot of diversity in our own country and sometime it is hard to completely witness what our home has to offer us. For example, I live in India and it does not matter that to which direction you move within the country, you will see completely different geography, language, people and their local cuisine. This range from desert in west to rainforest in east, tall people in south to comparatively shorter people in north and east. It does not make sense to travel to other foreign country, whereas having no clue about the diversity present at the home country. Without appreciating the things at home first, we will not be amazed by what is present in foreign country and thus, will not appreciate that. Thus, traveling in their own country is more beneficial and important.

Secondly, when we travel in our own country, we observe certain things and systems which are not present or such efficient at our hometown. This inspire us to bring change and make things better at our own place. For instance, recently I travelled to eastern Himalayan Indian state, Sikkim. This state is geographically similar to my state, Uttarakhand but much cleaner and people consider that throwing garbage is morally wrong. This brings a change in my own habits and after going back to my home, I always tried to convince people to think that throwing garbage in open in morally wrong than considering it illegal. People can sometime bypass law, but if they think it morally, there will be no need to bring law because people anyway avoid doing it. So traveling in own country bring a sense of doing better than our other country fellow and make us a better person. Because of this, I think that traveling in own country is more beneficial.

To conclude, this is a complex issue to decide whether one should travel to own country or abroad. Nonetheless, I still contend that travelling in our country is more beneficial.