Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is not
beneficial for a child’s learning.
It is incontrovertible that many children pass their time playing computer games as they are
so prevalent today and children find these games entertaining and enjoyable. Yet, there
could be a debate over the impact computer games can have on children’s learning and
development. Some might argue that all computer games are detrimental to children’s mind and could even alter their brain performance and structure. However, I believe that some
computer games can be actually instrumental to a quality education in general for two
reasons.
To begin with, it is important that a child learns problem-solving skills. In other words,
certain computer games could actually help children develop the analytical skills needed for
their education. From my personal experiences, I observed that some of my progressive
teachers would allow students to play a few selective computer games, and these games
were related to something we had learned in the previous lecture. Some of these games
required us to use various cognitive skills while solving a puzzle, riddle or problem in order
to move to the next level. It made learning more interesting and engaging. This was because
the activity was more conducive to education and enabled us to use multiple perspectives
and have fun. Soon I realized that these types of computer games could be useful brain
exercises. This clearly depicts that not all games are a waste of time. Another major consideration is that there are many video games that can teach children
academic subjects like history or literature. These games are not only entertaining but also
very educational. To illustrate this, one should look no further than a video game called
Oregon Trail. The game is set during the time when many pioneers decided to head west.
The path was well known to be arduous and dangerous, and the game replicates the
obstacles the pioneers had to face as they moved westward. If children played this game,
they could experience going through the Oregon Trail as if they were really there surpassing
perils constantly. Consequently, they would learn exactly what people in the past went
through, and they may be able to remember the historical event better. It could even draw
further interests on the topic that otherwise might be quite boring. Therefore, we can
assume that computer games have a lot more to offer educationally.