Some people believe that parents should pay their children a small amount of money to do jobs around the home (such as washing the dishes or taking out the garbage), while other people believe that parents should not pay their children to do these tasks. Which view do you agree with and why?

Undoubtedly, parents play an important role in children’s growing process, and they have the heavy responsibility of providing their children with the healthy environment to both foster their talents, and to establish the ground rule for their behavior. In this sense, there are various methods adopted by parents among which the one regarded as the issue of discussion is that whether parents should pay money to their children in exchange of their assistance in household chores or not. A popular sentiment to which I cling is that this policy will hopefully contribute to the strand of development in children. The underlying lines will shed light on my point.

The first focal point that prompts me to hold this idea is that this manner will help children to realize the value of money and learn how to manage monetary matters latter in their lives. To clarify, living in a world when the future is uncertain and most countries are struggling with economic recession, teaching children the value of money and the skill of managing it, appears necessary. In this regard the sooner children start to deal with money, the better they will be able to practice skills regarding earning and saving it. consequently, paying children a small amount of money in return of their help in-house will teach children that money is what which is earned not easily, but as a result of their efforts. Thus, they will be more cautious about how to spend this money and start to learn skills such as saving or prioritizing their needs in order to spend this money in the best possible way. My own experience is a clear example of this case, when I was a school student, my father used to pay me a small amount of money whenever I helped him in shopping. This money was so valuable for me, as I knew it is what I have earned in return of my own work, so I did not want to spend it on buying unimportant things and I started to save this money for years until this became a habit for me and helped me later in my life to manage my money in a wise way.

Another equally salient point in corroborating my stance in this subject is that it will assist parents to develop valuable features in their children including the sense of cooperation and helping others. To explain, children at early age are not mature enough to realize the importance and long-term benefits of doing some tasks assigned by parents, thus parents first need to prompt them into doing them by determining rewards and incentives for them, until it turns into a habit in children and by the time they understand the real intention behind these assigned duties. Similarly, the majority of children are not willing to help their parents in a house but by giving them money as a reward they feel obligated and encouraged to do it, and by the time by observing the positive influence of this manner on the family and their own personality, they will continue it regardless of these incentives. In fact, this is an acceptable method recommended by today psychology in upbringing children, through establishing a punishment and reward system helping parents to instill the codes of conduct into their children.

To sum up, the act of paying money to children appears an effective method applied by parents, as it not only will contribute to children’s better understanding out of the concept of money and managing it, but it will develop valuable features in them by the passage of the time.