Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.
The computer attracts children in various ways. One of the prominent ways is computer games.
In my view, I think playing games on the computer is a misuse of time and kids should not be
allowed to play computer games for a few reasons which I will explore in the following essay.
To begin with, playing games can lead to do badly in the exam. Because of playing games on the
computer, children waste most of their valuable time and do not get a sufficient amount of time
to study. For this reason, they might do a bad result in the exam. My own experience is a
compelling example of this. About 10 years ago, when I was reading at school, my father bought
me a computer. I became so excited to have the computer and started to explore the computer.
Then, one day one of my friends, named Akash, gave me a computer game to play. The game
was amazing. I started to play the game and at the weekend I played the game all day long. I did
not study a lot and as a result, I got a very bad grade in the exam on that term. The result was the
worst in my student life. This would not happen if I did study well-instead of playing the
computer game.
Second, playing computer games is deleterious to health. Because, if a child sees the computer
screen continuously, the UV ray from the screen could damage their eyes. In contrast, if they
play in the field with their friends and do exercise, they can be able to live a healthier life. For
example, Atik, who was 10 years old and my cousin, used to play computer games whenever he
got time. He also saw movies and drama on the computer as well. After a few years, suddenly he
realized that he did not see clearly, objects which are in a distant location. Then, he became
afraid and told me everything. I immediately suggested to him to tell everything to his parents.
When he told his parents, they took Atik to visit an eye doctor. Then, the doctor told him that his
eyesight decline. Therefore, the doctor suggested to him an eyeglass for clear vision. If he did
not play computer games, his eyesight would not decline.
In conclusion, I strongly support that playing computer games is not good for children. Because
playing computer games hamper our study, and are deleterious for our health as well.