Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children shouldn't be allowed to play them.

Spending excessive hours playing computer games is a common problem among today's youth. While some people thus believe children should be prohibited from playing these games, I disagree and argue that video games can actually help children to be more creative and to develop their problem-solving skills.

First of all, the wide variety of computer games available these days suggests that they require a high level of creativity and imagination. These games involve shooting, strategy development, role-playing and more, presenting players will all sorts of tasks, such as simply going from point A to point B, trying to find hidden things, or following clues to complete a mission. Moreover, players encounter high quality graphic art, scripts, and other artistic features, making the game seem more realistic. For instance, in the game Farming Village, a player must figure out the correct order of farming steps in order to win the game. As most children who play this game have never been to an actual farm, this activity allows them to imagine the situation and be a part of it, even if only virtually. In the long run, educators can make good use of this technology to creatively teach history, geography, and other subjects with a more hands-on approach, thereby making video games a benefit rather than a waste of time.

Another advantage of computer games is that they enable players to view problems from different perspectives. Indeed, by playing computer games, children learn to solve various types of problems quickly as they often have to do this in real time, often against other players. Not only do children thus develop problem-solving skills, they also learn to be proactive, think independently, and interact with others online, all of which are useful in adulthood. My own experience playing these games allowed me to see problems from a variety of angles and learn why a solution might work for one specific problem but not others. Eventually, this carried over to school where I had to think through difficult questions and come up with an array of solutions in classes such as math or physics. Again, the applications of video games in education are endless.

In conclusion, to assume that playing computer games is a waste of time is shortsighted and does not take into account the potential benefits these games offer. Children should be encouraged to play these games to simulate their creativity and to learn to see problems from different perspectives and solve them.