Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is one of the most essential needs of us in contemporary life. Many people thus propose quality education. Paying a lot of money to university professors is an effective strategy. For they think financial payments can advance the scientific level of education. While money plays an important role in the academic ambient, I disagree that paying much money persuades professors to improve education scientifically. My point of view is based on scientific and economic aspects, which I will explore in the following passages.

Scientifically, paying a lot of money for them creates a toxic atmosphere among professors where they stop doing profound scientific research, which is an inseparable part of academic communities, leading to competition for money negatively. My experience is a compelling example of this. Our university doubled the salary of professors to motivate them to do innovative studies. While the university speculated this encouragement will lead to a change in the scientific level of education gradually, the members of the faculty engaged in indefinite competition for grasping much money. Had not they increased salaries unreasonably, the professors would not have forgotten their scientific duties.

From an economic perspective, spending money without comprehensive planning, like in the salary section, causes to a budget deficit. The universities can allocate their budget to research groups or laboratories, in which increasing money will improve their circumstances and will affect the qualification of education. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University, in which they claim that as the universities increase the rate of allocating financial resources to laboratories and various research, the level of education will rise strikingly.

To sum up, not only does it pay much money to faculty members will decrease the level of education but will cause to have a financial deficiency in other domains. The universities should spend their financial resources on fundamental needs to improve education.