Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing sports teaches people more important lessons about life.

Throughout history, sport has played a prominent role in people’s everyday life. It has always been a crucial concern for most people to do at least one kind of sport regularly, because of various benefits of sports, which are apparent to everybody. Beyond all obvious benefits of sports, which can be realized in the first look, today it is a controversial question among psychologists whether playing sports teaches people more important lessons about life. I personally assert that playing sports regularly can teach various prominent lessons about life to people. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to my mind to substantiate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that when people are playing team sports such as football and rugby, they learn how to work in a team. They practice how to communicate with other people and how to cooperate with them in order to achieve a mutual goal. The more team sports a person plays, the more important lessons about acting in social situations he learns. A study was carried out in Germany to find out the effects of playing football on German football players’ social behavior. It showed that these players are more successful in doing team works and communicating with other people around them than regular people. It also revealed that the players are very patient when they face others’ opinions which oppose theirs.

Another equally significant point is that when one is playing sports, he is usually competing another person or team. Today competing other people is a noticeable part of people’s life in the society. Most people work for gigantic companies and such companies are always in competition. Furthermore, people have to compete others in their personal life. For example, when one is trying to take a financial aid from bank or when he is applying for a job, he has to compete others who are trying to get the same things. By playing sports and competing another team or person, one can practice competing others in a smaller sample than what really takes place in society. He can learn how to enter a healthy competition and be stuck to morality in it.

From what has been discussed above, we may safely reach the conclusion that beyond all its obvious benefits, playing sports can teach people various important lessons which can help them to socialize more and better in their lives. Unfortunately, today in developed countries young and middle aged people are more involved in their daily works and do not allocate adequate time to doing sports. However, considering numerous benefits of it, two social ones of which are mentioned above, it is anticipated that in future more developed countries try to encourage people to participate in sports.