Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing sports teaches people lessons about life.
Why do people play sports? I used to think that health and entertainment are the main causes,
but more and more I realize that sports can actually serve as powerful lessons as I now involve
myself in it often enough.
One important life lesson I learned from sport games is that it is not always better to win.
Normally, people take winning in a competition as something worth celebrating, but my
experiences of playing sports with friends and families let me know that what matters the most
when playing games with them is to have a good time together. Sometimes, we even need to
deliberately lose the game in order to cheer others up. A person who is addicted to the feeling of
being superior all the time is unlikely to have anyone close to him or her.
Another important principle I figured out by playing sports is that if we want to be trusted, we
need to have faith in others first. We all have seen people complaining that they are not given
the opportunities to do something they can, and a lot of them tend to blame it on the jealousy of
others, but when I played basketball with some strangers on the court, I realized if I chose to
believe that a person could score and thus passed him the ball, the person would also be willing
to count on me when I had the chance. Simply put, people treat us the way we treat them.
While many claim that they are too busy to participate in physical activity, I actually find it quite
effective in helping me make good use of my time. With the proper amount of weight training
and cardiovascular training, my brain gets some very good rest and my body becomes way
more energetic, which is why I have even higher work efficiency after going to the gym. The
hours I spend there could totally be compensated because I will get more work done within a
shorter time. This lesson, however, is unlikely to be learned without getting any workouts.
One of the greatest things about life is that there are lessons to be taken everywhere. If we
keep that in mind, then we will realize that we are making discoveries even when we do not
intend to do so.