Which one do you think is the most useful to improve our environment? 1. Walking or bicycling to reduce driving 2. Only consuming organic food (reduce pesticide) 3. Reusing wastes

Serious environmental problems have long made people suffer, which largely undermines the quality of people’s lives. People have been searching for effective and useful methods to improve our environment. Some people are of the opinion that recycling wastes and merely eating organic food are of great use to promote the environment. From my point of view, of the above three approaches, reducing driving through walking or riding bicycles is the most effective way.

To begin with, only consuming organic food makes it difficult for people to continue for a long time. Without a doubt, eating organic food will drive the survive and thrive of organic farming, which is advantageous in many aspects, such as alleviating soil erosion and increasing soil fertility. However, adopting this way means that people have to completely abandon their former eating styles and begin to eat a vegetarian diet, and that makes it hard for people to hold on to the end, for they may feel tedious or even painful to eat such food every day. What is worse, this approach may probably threaten people’s health, because organic food cannot provide people with some necessary elements that non-organic food can supply. No one wants to improve the environment at the cost of their health. Thus, only eating organic food would be very likely to end up with failures.

Recycling wastes also seems to be a rather effective mean to protect the environment, and it is of great importance to limit the need for new natural resources and help sustain the environment for future generations. Normally, reusing wastes generally includes several steps including cleaning, sorting, which usually requires people to master relevant background knowledge and professional tools. In other words, if wastes, such as batteries and abandoned digital products, are incorrectly disposed of, they may not only be harmful to people but even worsen the current environment. Since not all the people acquire professional knowledge about treating wastes, thus they would rather place these wastes in their houses or just throw it away without any disposal. If this happens, how can we take recycling wastes as the most useful way?

At last, I would like to talk about the benefits of reducing driving. Since automobiles today emit a great amount of harmful gas like carbon dioxide and sulfur dioxide into the air, reducing driving cars is beneficial to the environment by reducing air pollution. Also, this option is easy to follow up and set out. Here Beijing, a city with a large number of cars, is a good case on point. Beijing has long beset by heavy air contamination for many years. In order to improve the air condition, the government encourages citizens to ride bicycles or walk directly to their destinations. Since then, more and more people soon choose bicycles to go to work or go shopping, which is why sharing bicycles are ubiquitous in Beijing. As a result, the air condition has in Beijing improved to a large extent. In this case, walking or bicycling has proved to be the most useful path.

From what has been discussed above, it is easy to make the conclusion that walking or bicycling to reduce driving is the most useful way among the three ones to improve the environment.