Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Practice and hard work are more important to an athlete's success than natural ability and talent. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Innate abilities to excel do not always guarantee success. It is important to put in our blood and sweat towards our goal, so as to achieve it. I believe this is applicable to all the different spheres of life. Hence, I agree with the statement that for an athlete to be successful, practice and hardwork as important as natural ability and talent, if not more. I would like to substantiate this in this passage.

Take, for example, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, former captain of the Indian Cricket Team. His path to fame was littered with obstacles, much like others around him. Though immensely talented, he constantly struggled and fought tooth and nail to finally be able to showcase his talent to the world. He even had a short stint in the railways department so that he could become a part of the Railways Cricket Team. Everybody is talented in something or the other. It is our choice to be determined, persevere and work hard that helps us broadcast it for the rest of the planet to recognize and cherish. MSD's story is a classic example of the above statement.

Another reason practice and hard work are very important for an athlete is the competition in today's world. We find such a large number of people working towards joining the same national teams, etcetera. The top of the world is a small place, not everybody can get there. Practice and hard work help us hone our skills and help us constantly upgrade ourselves to keep in pace with today's constantly changing world. Putting in such effort also helps us gain an edge over our peers, and nudges us a closer to the destination, step by step. For an athlete, it would help them stay fit and healthy and devise new strategies to up their game.

Success is not a goal. It is a process. It doesn't end with us reaching the top rather, it goes on and on, for us to always stay there. Every athlete must realize that there is enough talent in the world to oust them from their path of success. It takes hard work and practice to show the world why you and your talent are worth its attention.