Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students---like people in general prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decision.

College life is a very important phase, a gateway to the various opportunities and experiences that life holds for us. it is during this time we both introspect and sweep through our surroundings, in order to find our footing in the society. This is the is the phase when we learn to not only make our own decisions, but also take responsibility for them. At such a time when students realize what their interests are and wish to diversify, it is unwise to rudely snatch away their choices. Elective subjects in universities are one way of helping students navigate through the process of finding their interests. hence, for the following two reasons, I strongly disagree with the given claim.

Firstly, elective subjects help students give greater focus to their subjects of interest and eliminate other background noise. courses offered by universities are colleges aim at catering to the needs of all their students in a very generic manner. To tailor the course to fit each and every student individually is an impossible task. allowing students to choose electives are one way of altering the course to cater to their individual aspirations, and giving greater priority to the needs of the students. Take, for example, a student pursuing a bachelor's degree in biotechnology. Biotechnology is a large umbrella which encompasses many fields of study ranging from pharmaceuticals to molecular biology.In such cases, electives provide the student with the opportunity to focus on subjects that are much more closely related to their field of interest.

Secondly, allowing students to explore subjects of their choice helps them deduce their likes and dislikes. Experimentation and trial-and-error are essential parts of the quest to finding one's calling in life. Not every student has their path ahead chalked out to perfection. Most students dabble with different ideas throughout college life until they find the one craft that calls out to their soul. By setting them free and letting them choose their subjects, we allow them to try and test the waters before they plunge headfirst into it. Even at the worst of cases, if they do not enjoy the subjects of their choice, they will atleast gain enough self-knowledge to assess their likes and dislikes, which can help them pinpoint their further choices of education. For instance, a student pursuing mechanical engineering has always expressed a great inclination towards automobiles. Upon taking electives pertaining to that field of study, he may feel that he is perhaps not as passionate about the subject as he percieved himself to be. hence, the course was an eye-opener for him and help him cross one of his choices off his list.

Pushing students to make such decisions while in the process of learning may backfire as they may sometimes make irrelevant and ill-informed choices. But it is important to note that such choices will always be their own. College aims to prepare us for what lies beyond the scope of the neighbourhood we live in. Its purpose is to mould us into persons independent persons who do not shy away from making life-shaping decisions. As Uncle Ben said, "With great power comes great responsibility." The power to sculpt our lives always lies in our hands, and it is imperative that we cherish the ability to do so.