On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.

The town council of Balmer Island have suggested that the islands' moped rental companies limit the moped rentals to 25 per day during the summer season in order to reduce the number of moped accidents on the island. The above conclusion was arrived upon considering the spike in population during the summer and keeping in mind the example of Seaville, where similar restrictions on moped rentals lead to a reduction in the number of annual moped accidents . The above suggestion needs to be reconsidered based on its ability to answer three questions.

First of all, are Balmer Island and Seaville comparable? It is possible that the conditions of the roads on the two islands are vastly different, with Balmer Island having rough and broken roads in comparision with the smooth roads of Seaville. it might also be possible that the traffic rules in Balmer Island are not as stringent as those that are in place in Seaville. if either,of the above scenarios turn out to be true, then the given argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, does and increase in population lead to a concomitant increase in moped accidents? It is possible that not all belonging to this increased population may choose to use a moped as their mode of transport. By making a claim that an increased population results in an increase in moped accidents, the author fails to acknowledge the availability of alternate forms of transport that the people may choose from. Such presence of alternate modes of transport reduces the strength of the argument.

Thirdly, is there any solid evidence that the decrease in annual moped accidents in Seaville were a result of the restrictions imposed on moped rentals in the summer season? are the summer months the times during which the number of accidents were significantly lower? it is possible that the number of accidents were lower during some other time of the year and that the limits imposed on moped rentals were ineffective, as the author states that a 50 percent drop in the annual moped accidents was observed. if this were true, then is provides evidence that the suggested plan may not be as effective as the author assumes it to be.

To conclude, the author needs to furnish stronger evidences and arguments to back his/her claims and address the aforementioned questions, in order to substantiate his/her proposal.