Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Providing Internet access is just as important as other services such as building roads so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost Use specific reasons and examples

Nowadays, a great number of people all over the world are using the Internet for many purposes during ‎their lifetime. In this regard, some individuals believe that governments should offer Internet access ‎to all of their people at no cost, while others hold the opposite supposition. When it comes to me, I ‎concur with the latter group, stating that the Internet should not be free for all citizens. In what follows, ‎I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

‎ First of all, providing free Internet needs a vast amount of money, which can put pressure on ‎governments’ budgets. To be more specific, when people know that the Internet is free, they start ‎overusing the Internet, which needs more bandwidth and other related equipment. All of these ‎infrastructures should be funded and investigated by governments, which costs expensively. For example, In ‎the year 2005, my university, AmirKabir university, offered free Internet to all students. Due to this ‎project, most students who did not interested in the Internet, start using it. In addition, a great number ‎of pupils downloaded films and other media because of the free Internet. As a result, after two years, the ‎university decided to limit Internet access because they could not afford free Internet costs.

‎ Secondly, people would be addicted to the Internet due to the project of no cost Internet that is offered ‎by governments. To elucidate, when governments suggest free Internet access to all of their people, ‎every person starts using the Internet without worrying about finishing it or its costs. In this vein, people ‎spend a vast amount of their time, searching on the Internet and reinforcing their addiction to it. Maybe ‎my personal experience may shed more light on this matter. Two years ago, my father bought a six-month free Internet for us. Since we were not worried about finishing the Internet, we used it all day ‎long, downloading a lot of movies and after that watching them. This caused me to be an addicted ‎person and I suffered my eyes in this way. Also, because of my addiction, I could not study as well, ‎and I give bad grades at school this year.

‎ In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I firmly believe that providing free Internet access ‎by governments is not a good idea. Not only will it put great pressure on governments' budgets, but ‎also it will cause people to be addicted to Internet use.‎