Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Reading fiction such as novels and short stories is more enjoyable than watching movies Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position

Since the dawn of humanity, human beings have been engaged in the great struggle to find appealing entertainments for their leisure time. These entertainments have changed dramatically over time. Nowadays, two of the most popular entertainments are fiction books and movies. Both of them have their own fans. In today's world, however, there is a heated controversy as to whether reading fiction is more enjoyable or watching movies. Generally, there doesn't exist a unanimous opinion toward this issue. There are numerous concealed and conspicuous elements and factors which are inextricably interwoven with one another that affect the popularity of an entertainment. While some people hold the opinion that watching movies is more enjoyable, others believe that reading fiction books is more appealing. As far as I am concerned, I have a penchant toward the latter on the grounds that reading fiction empowers the imagination. Additionally, reading a fiction novel or story gives an individual more liberty of using the time.

The foremost quality of an entertainment is empowering the imagination. This is not a made-up fact and is actually supported by scientific evidence. Recent statistics and results drawn from comprehensive researches conducted at the University of Michigan show that people are more interested in entertainments which stimulate their imagination. As far as imagination is concerned, fiction novels and stories are the most powerful tools. While reading a book, the reader usually imagines him or her as the main character of the story. It then gives the reader the ability to think of the character's emotions and future decisions. This doesn't happen in watching a movie. The difference is the intrinsic characteristic of reading and watching. Contrary to what most people think, reading is not an objective action. It is subjective, in fact. The main part of the brain conflicting during reading is the imagination then. However, imagination is not stimulated in watching a movie as one only pursues the action in the movie. All these stand to the reason that reading a fiction story or novel is more enjoyable than watching a movie.

Another element which distinguishes reading a fiction from watching a movie is the liberty one has while reading. One can sit in whatever position he or she likes for reading a book. He or she can also choose to read it in a paper book or in digital version on a tablet. Additionally, one can read as long as he or she likes or stops and analyzes every section. Also, one can communicate to others while reading a book. Watching a movie, however, is associated with some obligations. Imagine watching a movie in a movie theater. There is no pausing when one needs to go to the bathroom. You are not allowed to talk with friends about a scene and are not even able to answer a message on your mobile phone as it distracts the audience. All these rules have been passed for the sake of an audience, although, they make the audience act in compliance with specific regulations.

To draw the conclusion grounded on the above statements, I subscribe to the idea of reading a fiction story or novel being more enjoyable than watching a movie as it has numerous supporting evidence, two of which- that is- reading stimulating imagination and the liberty one has while reading a book in comparison to watching a movie are of utmost importance. As Gandhi once said and I am quoting, "Nothing pleases me more than sitting in my quiet room reading an amusing story of Rabindranath Tagger." Having this in mind, I would definitely strive for reading a fiction story in my free time rather than watching a movie.