TPO-26 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.Use specific r

Since the dawn of humanity, people have been engaged in the great struggle of doing the jobs as efficient as possible. At ancient times, jobs were simple and only based on physical abilities. However, as time passed by, jobs became more and more complicated and required different skills. There are different methods one can choose a job. Some continue their fathers' jobs, some attend a college to learn how to do a job, and some even start an innovative job. The big question is then; which of these methods is more useful? There does not exist a unanimous opinion toward this issue as there are numerous facts and reasons which are inextricably interwoven with one another that affect the application of each method. While some people hold the opinion that it is not good for the children to choose the jobs similar to their parents' jobs, some are of the opinion that this method of choosing a job has advantages over other methods. As far as I am concerned, I have a penchant toward the latter as I believe by choosing one's parents' job one can enjoy the privilege of being educated and trained on that job as well as possible. Additionally, continuing parents' job blesses the people with potential customers and gives them the option of thinking of innovations.

The most distinguished part of a job is the individual's ability in doing that job. This is especially more important in a competitive world. With the population growth and emergence of numerous factories and companies providing goods and services, the quality of the products was the most important deciding factor for customers. The quality is not achieved unless one has great knowledge and ability in doing a job. Being trained since the early ages gives a child the ability to present the best quality possible when he or she is responsible for the production.

Another privilege of choosing a job similar to parents' jobs is having potential and actual customers. Imagine a manager running a paper company. Due to years of endeavor and advertisement, he has been able to find numerous long-term customers. What happens when he is retired and his daughter is in charge? She is facing numerous loyal customers who are a great contribute to the company's profits. This is not true when one starts a new job. A beginner should spend most of the time advertising and offering interesting prices to attract customers, which as we know, is the hardest part of a job.

Last but not least, A person doing a job similar to that of his or her parents, has the ability to think of innovation. As stated in the second paragraph, these people are usually trained at the early ages. As a result and by experience gained in several years, they become familiar with all aspects of a job. This is the crucial point in innovation. An innovator should be familiar with all the processes, specifications, and details in a job to be able to think of innovations. As a result, children who have this privilege are able to think of a method for improving efficiency and reducing cost which is an important factor in competing with their competitors. While other companies are conflicting with solving the problems in their production line or training their employees, people having these kinds of jobs can think of finding a way to reduce electricity consumption leading to a decrease in the product's price.

To draw the conclusion grounded on the above statements, I subscribe to the idea of children choosing jobs similar to their parents' jobs. This selection is due to numerous reason, three of which that is being able to have proper training, having potential and actual customers, and being able to think of innovations are of utmost importance. As Bill Gates once said and I am quoting, "There is one way I could be more successful than today and that is my father being Bill Gates." Having this in mind, I strongly urge to the idea of children choosing jobs similar to that of their parents.