Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Reading fiction (such as novels and short stories) is more enjoyable than watching movies. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

Storytelling is an artful skill. It can use a variation of the medium, either with novels, comic books or movies, to convey the story message. Through the advancement of technologies such as CGI, a movie can tell the story in the most surreal way. Although going to a cinema is very enjoyable, I personally agree with the statement because several reasons I would like to elaborate in the next paragraph.

First, the novel contains a comprehensive story and description without time restriction. A book constitutes many chapters with full of details and characters. Unlike a movie where it has time and money constraint. It is impossible to make a movie with duration of 6 hours and involve 120 different characters. For example, Harry Potter book consists three hundred to five hundred pages, if the movie similar to the novel, we will sit back for almost six hours. As a consequence, the cinema will have less profit and cinemagoer feel bored and restive.

Second, the adaptation of certain scene may be impossible to recreate. Although the green screen can produce the implausible scene, sometimes, they unable to resemble the writer imagination or the result look forced so the watchers feel unsatisfied. For instance, one of the problems with the Twilight movie is the face changing sequence, facilitated by the CGI, looks so unnatural and delayed. It feels fake and inadequate, different from our imagination.

Ultimately, watching movies to the cinema or even subscribing a cable service require an extra cash. I realized that it will benefit the entertainment industry but I personally feel that is too costly and take some of my enjoyment since I will think about the consequences afterward. Whereas, the novel is cheaper and everlasting. I can reread it as many time as I want in the comfort of my home, which is very convenient.

Reading has more attractive qualities than the movie adaptation. Although movie complements the story very well, I personally believe that reading a book is more enjoyable than just watch the movie adaptation.