What do you believe is the most important problem facing the world today? Why is it the most important? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I personally believe that the most pressing problem in the world right now is maternal death. Every second, we lose at least a thousand of mothers in childbirths. Not only the significant number but also the fact that it is high burden mortality causes. Additionally, the problem affects the health and quality of our future generation.

Maternal death made baby motherless. With this in mind, the baby prevalent to die before the age of five at least double compared to a baby who mother survives the delivery process. The function of a family to nurture, develop, and educate the children will become defective. In a long-term, this problem will affect intelligence and health of our future generation. For example, baby without a mother unable to exclusively breastfeed for minimum 6 months thus they will lose the opportunity to consume colostrums. Colostrum is a very essential to strengthen the immune system and development of the brain. The well-developed immune system would protect the baby from diarrhoea or upper respiratory tract infection.

Maternal mortality also put enormous burden in-country health expenditure. It is a fact that prevention of maternal death relied heavily on health system input. The emergency management in a complication of childbirth is costly. For instance, the emergency caesarian surgery needs an obstetrician, an anesthesiologist and an operating room. In addition, a maternal death also contributed to a loss of a productive worker. Subsequently, the country loses income from declining tax and fiscal input.

Lastly, maternal death is the number one killer of women in the world. Women are half of the population. However, the aetiology of their death cannot be managed properly. This will affect economics, politics and socially simply from a cumulative number of loss life.

All the things considered, I personally believe that maternal death is the most important problem in the world. The solution needs collaboration between government, the private sector, and community with a comprehensive approach from every field.