What do you believe is the most important problem facing the world today? Why is it the most important? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every second, we lose at least a thousand of mothers in childbirths. Not only the significant number but also the fact that it is high burden mortality causes. Furthermore, the problem affects the health and quality of our future generation. I personally believe that the most crucial problem in the world right now is maternal death and I would like to elaborate more in the next paragraph.

First, maternal death made baby motherless. As a consequence, the baby preponderance to die at least twice likely before the age of five compared to a baby who mother survives the delivery process. The function of a family to nurture, to develop, and to cultivate the children will become defective. In a long-term, this problem will affect intelligence and health of our future generation. For example, baby without a mother unable to exclusively breastfeed for minimum 6 months thus they will lose an opportunity to consume breast milk containing immunoglobulin. Immunoglobulin is a very essential to strengthen the immune system. The well-developed immune system would protect the baby from diarrhoea or upper respiratory tract infection.

Second, maternal death put an enormous burden in-country health expenditure. It is a fact that prevention of maternal death relied heavily upon health system input given the emergency management in a complication of childbirth is costly. Take, for example, the emergency caesarian surgery needs an obstetrician, an anesthesiologist and an operating theatre. In addition, a maternal death also contributed to shrinkage of productive workers. Subsequently, the nation depletes of income from declining tax and fiscal input.

Lastly, maternal death is the number one killer of women in the world. Since women are half of the population, the aetiology of their death should be managed properly. The neglect of the problem will affect economics, politics and socially simply from the number of loss life.

All the things considered, I personally believe that maternal death is the paramount problem in the world. In order to resolve the issue, we need collaboration between government, the private sector, and community with a comprehensive approach from every field.