Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Rules are the building blocks of a society and they could either make an environment a good place or a bad place to live. There is a controversial debate among policymakers whether rules are easy to follow or not. In this regard, while many people hold the opinion that rules are very firm for juveniles, others stand on the other side of the continuum, holding the view that they are not very hard to follow. As far as I am concerned, I am inclined to the former group of people. In what follows, I will explain the most crucial reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

It is worth bearing in mind from a sociological standpoint that society today is emerging; as a result, people who live in this society–including younger ones– react to this emergence. George Akerlof–A famous sociologist who won the Noble price in medical science– once said, "We live in an emerging era that everything changes on a daily basis." To make things crystal clear, an example of my own life can shed light on how rules are not strict anymore. I have a relative who used to respect his parents and do anything they said; at the passage of time, he is not as respectful as he used to be. Not only he does not obey the order of his father but he also demands a lot of things from his father.

Furthermore, another compelling reason which supports my stance on this subject is that social media and the internet make young people more liberal. This stance is no longer holds true because studies have revealed that there is a significant correlation between the internet penetration rate and the number of disobeyed teenagers. In this vein, a survey conducted by a group of social scientists at Istanbul University has shown that the more the number of Instagram and Facebook users in a city, the less satisfaction of parents. This study mentions disobeyed teenagers as one the main reason for the parents' dissatisfaction. Had young people not access to social media, the would have been more respectful to the rules.

In conclusion, having considered all the above-mentioned arguments, reasons, and examples into account, I do believe that in the last decade rules have changed dramatically in order to make life easier for young people. There are a couple of reasons which worth reiterating: first, the fast trend of emergence in our society makes rules to change . second, social media makes young people more liberal.