Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is clear that no one wants without any rule or constitution. However, some societies established rules that are very hard to follow especially for youngsters. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, some of the rules that young members of society are supposed to follow will hurt their future. Governments' decisions affect many people and as a result, they have to contemplate all of the aspects when they are passing rules and laws. If that they do not pay attention to side-effects of their decisions, they unconsciously or sometimes consciously pose negative impacts on youths' life. For instance, in my country, every 18-year-old boy must serve the military for two years after high school graduation. Our leader states that we want to be ready for every threat, so having trained troops is our single option. If this law considered more meticulously, its drawbacks would surface vividly. Everyone knows that if graduate students spend two years in military camps learning about shooting and desert camouflage, no university would accept them due to the drastic education gap that would be present in their resume. As it is clear, this single law would hurt our future to the extent that no one can get academic education.

Secondly, some rules have to do with young people's personal life. One of the aspects of developed societies is respecting its members' intimacy. However, even in the modern world, we can observe countries that do not revere people's personal life by applying rules that are too strict to follow. For instance, the other day I read an article about a state in South Africa. The governor has instructed that bachelors are not allowed to marry unless they reach 30 years old. Psychologists have surveyed the repercussions of this law and found that the rate of sexual misuse and rape have increased after passing this law. Moreover, some youngsters who are educated and do not practice these dangerous behaviours, showed symptoms of depression and introversion in their conducts. The report mentioned that some youngs who do not follow the order and marry secretly, will spend rest of their life in jail.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that rules in modern societies are so harsh to young members. Not only do they hurt their future, but they interfere with youths' intimacy as well.