Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Should teachers assign homework that students must do every day?

Nowadays, more and more researchers and teachers discuss which teaching method is the best. They always debate how to truly help students learn better. It raises the question that teachers should assign homework to students every day or not. I think teachers should assign homework that students must do every day.

First of all, assigning homework can help teachers assess students’ understanding and level of the lecturing. To be more specific, students’ daily homework can reflect that students truly absorb the lecturing or not. For example, I can recall my sociology professor. She always assigned lots of reading homework about the classic sociology theories to the class and told us to write down which concepts bother us or which reading is too difficult to understand. I studied these reading texts every day and often found out I did not really understand some relatively abstract ideas or thoughts. Hence, I wrote down many notes about the difficult concepts which I did not figure out. And my professor would read my notes and other classmates’ notes to assess our understanding of the lecturing. Through this, she could change the lecturing schedule and focus on the difficult part of the lecturing.

Second, teachers are familiar with vital concepts or main ideas in the lecturing, so assigning homework to students can help students study more efficiently and precisely. For example, my computer programming teacher assigned lots of coding homework to me. And the questions among the homework are the most crucial concepts and coding grammars that only the seasoned teacher would know. So by completing that homework, I can hone my coding skill efficiently. Besides, due to the daily practices of coding, I quickly get familiar with the important computer science knowledge.

To conclude, I am a firm believer that teachers should assign homework that students must do every day. It can not only help teachers to assess student's learning progress but also help students study more effectively.