Do you agree or disagree with the following statement To solve the problems of the present and the future people should review the past

As history goes, the achievements in the field of technology made it able for us today to face problems not only about the present but also the future. Nevertheless, these problems were never dealt with before, thus we must seek solutions ourselves. Under this circumstance, many argue that we should learn from our ancestors’ wisdom. From my perspective, I would say that learning from the past is not the only way to overwhelm today’s problems.

Admittedly, the past provides us with abundant examples and methods for almost all kinds of problems. Though time and place might change, fundamental principles and methods may still apply. Let us take the foundation of the United States for example. The founding fathers of the nation created one of the youngest republics in the world, with barely any forerunners to guide them. Yet, they looked back to ancient Rome and gained the principles and methods from Rome’s structure of a republic. Until today, the United State’s democracy is still one of the nation’s pride.

However, the high rate of change in today’s society requires a lot more than learning from the past. Learning from the past alone can be a barrier to progressive ideas and inventions. A tradition from ancient times might be able to last for more than a thousand years without being obsolete in the past, but not in today’s world. Empires and dynasties in ancient China had been exploiting Confuciusm in ruling the country for thousands of years successfully, yet finally collapsed with the prevalence of democracy and industrial revolution. That is why we should not simply hold the past without reforming.

Therefore, one of the most needed perspectives is critically reviewing the past, and reforming traditions into new forms that can be adapted to today’s world. As mentioned above, the founders of the United States who did this brought the nation with prosper in the following centuries till now. On the contrary, also in the 18th and 19th centuries, the rulers of China who did not think of reforming existing ideas led China into the darkness of poverty and backwardness for over a century.

In conclusion, learning from the past is a good way to solve today’s problems, but not the only way. The wisdom of our ancestors might still work today, only by being combined with our new ideas considerating the tide of history.