Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Sometimes it is better to be dishonest. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

It is critically important that we know when to lie and when to speak the truth. Personally, I believe that, sometimes, it is okay to be dishonest. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, in some circumstances, it is better to lie for the benefit of both the liar and the listener. This may be true when interacting with people who suffer from some specific diseases. It is more essential to comfort them rather than tell them the truth. My own experience is a compelling illustration of this. About 5 years ago, my grandfather was diagnosed with dementia, which is a disease that causes people to forget things faster and in more quantity than others. There were a lot of nights in which I heard my grandfather suddenly wake up and scream in fear. The first few times this happened, I tried to calm him by telling him he had dementia. However, this led to him getting more anxious and afraid. For this reason, I decided that it would be better to just comfort him and put him back to sleep.

Secondly, there are some companies that treat their employees incredibly harshly. If one were to work in such a company, it would be better for him to lie in situations that would not harm any party. For instance, my father works in a company with strict rules. When he was working in their building, he was not allowed to do anything else during work hours. This made him lose motivation to work and harmed the company. However, when he started working from home due to Covid-19, he became much more productive. The reason was he sometimes used work hours to spend time on himself. This improved his morale, hence leading him to work with more passion. When his boss asked why he became more productive, he told them it was because he stayed focused on his work. He did not tell the truth because he knew he would get punished if he did so. As a result, by lying, he improved his mental health and became the employee of the month.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that, sometimes, it is better to lie. This is because it will only hurt to tell the truth to some patients, and it will help companies make more money to lie to them.