Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? “Sometimes it is better to be dishonest.” Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Retaining a healthy relationship can be very challenging and our decision under different circumstances can have profound impacts on our interaction. Personally, I believe telling small lies is sometimes unavoidable. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, there might be various causes behind our lies. Being frank and genuine can lead to disappointment of people we love. Thus, in these situations we might avoid telling the truth and instead we tell a lie to motivate them and give them smidge of hope. Our little lies can be followed by improvement and progress of our friend. My high school experience is a compelling example of this. I had a friend who was not good at physics and she had problems with the basics, but when she asked my opinion about her performance, I told her that those mistakes can happen to everyone. At the same time, I tried to help her with her studying style and finally she got better. If I had told her the truth at the first place, she might have given up to put more endeavor for getting better.

Another significant reason that is worth mentioning is that even in really close friendships, there are still some borders and lines that we shall not pass. Invading this restricted area is usually in the form of asking inappropriate questions that we don’t like to answer. In this situation it’s alright if our answer won’t be genuine. For instance, my friend once started asking personal questions about my relationship with my boyfriend. It would have been so awkward if I told her to stop asking this kind of questions, instead I decided to lie and answer her briefly. From my standpoint, I had the right to be dishonest, since I was pretty sure she knew that question make me feel uncomfortable.

In conclusion, based on the situation we can tell white lies which not only bring no harm to anyone, but also might help to tighten our bond with our friends, also it is quite perfect way to avoid giving out too much information about our personal matters to others.