Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Sometimes it is better not to tell the truth. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

In our childhood we are always taught that we should not lie to other people, because earlier or sooner people will find out the truth. Though many people stick to this point of view, I believe there are some cases when it is better not to say the truth.

The first thing I have got on my mind it is when probably we should not say the whole truth to some people who do not prepare to hear this. We all have different social roles: a worker, a family member, or a friend, thus in one case we should tell the truth, in the other it is better to hide. For example, one of my friends has recently had a lot of important projects to finish. Her friend asked her for going to a party, but at the same time she always has taken offences on my friend because of the impossibility to go with her there since a friend of mine has got a lot of things to do for work. That’s why my friend lied to her friend that she was going to a business trip to another country. I think it helped them to avoid a quarrel and saved their friendship.

Secondly, sometimes it is better to lie to defend a person from bad news. I think we should consider falsehood as a positive thing to conceal awful events or bad information. Recently I have read a newspaper article in which the story about one doctor and his patient was mentioned. The doctor decided not to say to his patient that the last one had a harsh decease in order to protect him of panic. Otherwise, the doctor started treatment at once and after several months he saw a progress in the condition of the patient. The doctor said that panic could have led to worse consequences, because it was restricted to worry for the patient.

Personally I had had lately the case when I lied to a person. Since that person is still important for me, I did not want to abuse him anyway. When this person asked me to take his cat to look after, I had to say that my mom had allergy, but actually I did not have time for this that time. I think if I had told the truth, my friend would not have understood it.

Thus, I believe that sometimes it is better to lie and hide the truth, because some people are not ready to hear it.