Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and universities. Several years ago, C adopted such a code and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The passage supports the idea that honor codes are a more effective way than others to fight classroom cheating. Although, it provides Groveton College as a particular example when after applying the codes, the students reported fewer cases of cheating; this assumption has some logical flaws.

First of all, the text presents the idea that this method is better than others, though only two means are actually compared. We can conclude from reading the passage that honor codes are more successful than professors’ monitoring in classes, but this fact does not guarantee that other methods are less effective. For instance, using more strict measures for test takers is better solution in this case. Universities and colleges may use monitoring systems and cameras for this purpose. Thus, it can be more fruitful than honor codes.

Moreover, it is unclear what assumptions the success of honor codes is based on. Was it proved that honor codes had turned the problem of students’ cheating around? To conclude more accurate research is needed. For example, we cannot rely on the result at Groveton College, because it might have been an exceptional case. Otherwise, the state of things at other universities has become worse after applying honor codes. Since no information was presented in the text, we can easily suspect that honor codes are not an omnipresent way to fight classroom cheating at all universities.

Even the decreasing numbers of cheating students at Groveton College does not prove that honor codes are a great measure against cheaters. Since reporting about these cases is on students’ schedulers, there is a high possibility that they can use honor codes for their purposes. In reality, the number of cheating students might have increased, but students prefer to hide most of the occurred cases. They take their advantages, because they can get higher marks more easily without professors’ controlling. Thus, we cannot rely on the presented numbers as a strong argument.

To sum up, based on the provided assumptions in the essay, honor codes might have not been better comparing to other methods to fight cheating cases among students.